10 TED Talks for Millennials

style-sneakers

Recently I have been searching for motivation anywhere that I can find it. I watched my first TED talk in college and quickly fell in love. I’ve scoured the internet for videos that really stood out to me and I connected with. As I mentioned in my previous post, job hunting and making a career for myself is something that has been weighing heavy on my mind. So if you find yourself in the same boat, these talks are for you. There’s nothing quite like waking up, enjoying a cup of tea, and listening to a TED talk after all.

  1. How To Stop Screwing Yourself Over by Mel Robbins: There’s something about Mel that makes you want to get up and completely change your life in an instant. She’s blunt, funny, yet gives us valuable tips on how we can make changes in your life one step at a time. The key? Just do it. (insert Nike logo here)
  2. Why Some of us Don’t Have One True Calling by Emilie WapnickI think this is one of my favorite TED talks to date. This one revolves around one question, “what do you want to be when you grow up?” a question we are asked since we are about 5 years old. At 23, I sure as hell don’t know the answer to this question and I bet there are a lot of others who feel the same. Wapnick describes what she calls “multipersonalities,” people who have more than one calling and passion in their life. Are you one?
  3. How to Find and do Work You Love by Scott DinsmoreI’m a sucker for anyone who shares their story about quitting a job that made them miserable and reforming themselves into someone who is doing what they truly love. Scott is one of those people. He shares tips on how to find what you love and getting started doing it.
  4. Why 30 is Not the New 20 by Meg JayI still to this day cannot get over this TED talk. Psychologist Meg Jay has nothing but faith in 20 something olds and believes that we should never wait to start making our lives great. If you’re reading this and don’t feel motivated to watch any of these, I suggest you watch just this one. You won’t regret it.
  5. Inside the Mind of a Master Procrastinator by Tim UrbanI am the absolute queen of procrastinating. This was fine in high school and college but when it comes to sort things out in your 20’s, something’s gotta change. In this hilarious but relatable talk, Urban tells us why it needs to stop before it’s too late.
  6. A Formular for Happiness by Shawn AchorThis one will really make you think about the concept that happiness does not depend on success. Rather, it is an independent internal concept that we control with our brains, not with external forces. I would listen to this guy. He’s pretty dang funny so I think he’s got the happiness thing sorted out.
  7. Success, Failure, and the Drive to Keep Creating by Elizabeth GilbertBest selling author of Eat, Pray, Love, Elizabeth Gilbert is a woman who I genuinely believe should be seen as a role model. As someone who spends most of her time writing, this talk is truly inspirational. Writing is her home, her true love. And no matter what the outcome, she kept pushing through, even through consistent failures.
  8. My Year of Saying Yes to Everything by Shonda Rhimes: Who here is addicted to Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, or How To Get Away with Murder? TGIT is my jam so this talk by a female television titan is certainly an eye opener. One of the most successful women in TV speaks about her “hum” that she has found in writing and how she got the “hum” back when she hit a wall and became unambitious.
  9. The Power of Introverts by Susan CainI have always considered myself to be  bit of a homebody. I thoroughly enjoy being myself at times, spending my days in bed reading a good book or writing. Susan Cain became a powerful lawyer when all she wanted to be was a writer (this one hits close to home here). She celebrates the abilities and talents of introverts and how they can excel in the world.
  10. Why We Do What We Do by Tony RobbinsRobbins refers to himself as the “why guy” and he has rightfully earned the nickname. This talk emphasizes the importance of finding your why and how it affects your self confidence.

This is a short list of the thousands of TED talks that are floating out there on the interweb. If these speakers can’t motivate you, I’m not sure any one can. Are there any other TED talks that you have watched recently that have left you feeling inspired? I’d love to hear about them! xo

Leave a Reply

